My “Real-Deal” Difference Maker for Writing

What a great response to the “Real-Deal” perspective, or what may really be a syndrome. Although The Myth of the Real Deal explains and contradicts Ryan Boudinot’s two types of students that either have it or don’t in writing, I believe that students need not go through an MFA or Creative Writing Program to find it, but rather keep writing and figure out our voice with the people already around us.

I believe the difference to achieve “Real-Deal” writing is the development of our voice, or written fingerprint that readers can ID with us. As a naive yet self-entitled freshman, I thought I knew how to write a paper because I had organization. Our Director of Composition taught me otherwise. On top of conciseness, she grew my belief in my writing. It is that belief in your poetry, short story, flash-fiction, or even academic research that builds our confidence and exemplifies the fingerprint on our writing.To get to our voice there are a few steps that I went through that may help others.

  1. First of all, keep writing. If you don’t play basketball every day, we probably won’t get better at basketball.
  2. The same goes for reading, unless were watching our opponents game film, we probably will not be informed about what others have done and more importantly what they are doing now.
  3. Experience. Although the greats have been cited as spending night upon night under candlelight, not everybody can just make creative points, characters, and key roles from just thinking about them. Every day I see things that spiral into excerpts of stories, lines of poems, and even points in my academic projects. So let your eyes cast light on everything you witness.
  4. Let Yourself Feel. Probably the most important step I took in finding my voice. One thing that separates humans from animals is our ability to feel and contemplate those feelings. By adding in emotions and tone to writing it brings the voice in the head of the reader from monotone to a tone full of personality.

Teachers & Professors alike know that their students could learn to write better on an organization level and maybe even word choice, but when it comes to instructing the students to “feel” the nature of their piece it is a much different story. 

I agree that you may not need an MFA or some kind of instinct to be the “Real-Deal,” not saying that I am, but as an ignorant freshman I had no feeling of my writing. Today as a senior I see things that could be the real deal every day, unfortunately I need to get in the habit of writing everything down.

Check out The Myth of the Real Deal by Jennifer Berney posted on brevity.wordpress.com for the article

Leave a Reply

